



The Unified Carrier Registration Plan is a congressionally established interstate compact among 41 participating states. It replaced the Single State Registration System (SSRS). The 2005 U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) re-authorization bill, also known as SAFETEA-LU, codified UCR into federal law. The UCR Act can be found in Title 49 United States Code (USC) section §14504a.

The maximum aggregate state revenue entitlements for all 41 participating states totals approximately \$107.8 million.

Public Utility Commissions make-up more than one-third of the UCR state revenue entitlements:

State	Entitlement
Alabama	\$ 2,939,964
Colorado	1,801,615
Illinois	3,516,993
Kansas	4,344,290
Massachusetts	2,282,887
New Mexico	3,292,233
Ohio	4,813,878
Oklahoma	2,457,796
Pennsylvania	4,945,527
Rhode Island	2,285,486
Washington	2,467,971
West Virginia	1,431,727
Total	\$ 36,580,367
Maximum UCR Revenue Entitlement	\$ 107,777,060
Percent Entitlement For PSC Governing Agencies	34%



Useful Tools & Resources:

- The UCR Handbook (Plan.UCR.Gov); See Governing Documents Section
- The UCR National Registration System (NRS) (www.UCR.Gov)
- UCR Helpdesk (Helpdesk@UCR.Gov or call 1-833-UCR PLAN)
- UCR Plan Website (Plan.UCR.Gov)
- UCR Newsletter "Dispatch" Subscribe on the UCR Plan Website
- Education & Training Materials (Plan.UCR. Gov); See Education & Training Center
- FMCSA SAFER System (safer.fmcsa.dot.gov)
- FMCSA (fmcsa.dot.gov)

UCR-NARUC CONNECTION



How are the UCR Fees Determined?

The fees can vary each year. The fee is a flat per tier fee and is determined by the number of motor vehicles (excluding trailers) you reported on your MCS-150 form sent to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). There are 6 tiers based on a graduating structure that are used in setting the flat per tier fee. Brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies pay in the lowest fee tier.

Who Is Required To Register for UCR?

All motor carriers (for-hire, private and exempt) as well as brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies operating in interstate or international commerce are subject to the UCR Agreement. Carriers based in Canada and Mexico that operate in the United States are also subject to the UCR Agreement.

Where do I Register for UCR and Pay the Fee?

Registration and fee payment are performed online using UCR's National Registration System at www.UCR.Gov. Support is available by contacting the Helpdesk at Helpdesk@UCR.Gov.

Registration fees have remained constant since 2020 and will remain in effect throughout the 2022 registration year. Fees for 2023 are anticipated to go down, which is good for industry, while maintaining the same revenue level for states so they can provide an equivalent level of safety operations for the public.



How is the UCR Plan Governed?

UCR is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of 15 members. 9 are state officials representing agencies responsible for administering the UCR Plan in their respective states, 5 members are from industry, and 1 member is from FMCSA. Board members are appointed by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation or a designee. Each appointment is for a 3-year term and there are no limits on the number of terms an appointee may serve. UCR also operates various subcommittees to help the Board achieve its mission under the UCR Agreement.

Historically PUC states have had a large number of members serving as directors on the UCR Board to provide governance, typically more so than the Non-PUC participating states.

The Act:

Public Law 109-59, Title IV, §4305(b), August 10, 2005; 49 USC §14504a

Why UCR?

- Replaced the Single State Registration System (SSRS)
- 2 Lower compliance burden for carriers
- Provide same level of revenue to the states
- 4 Registration is good in all states
- No decals, tags, cards compliance confirmed online
- 6 41 participating states